Community Wellness and Harm Reduction Grants

Community Wellness and Harm Reduction Grants were open for application from municipalities proposing project and initiatives that address substance use-related harms and improve wellness.

The evidence shows that harm reduction promotes health, improves social outcomes, and has other benefits for people with lived and living experience, their families and our broader communities. Municipalities are uniquely placed to listen and learn from people in their community and find bold and innovative ways to address challenges.

Community Wellness and Harm Reduction Grants are intended to support community partnerships providing focused, action-oriented harm reduction projects or initiatives, tailored to local needs. In particular, funding is available for municipalities who propose collaborative harm reduction projects or initiatives designed to enhance the knowledge, skills and resources for individuals, families and communities to be safer, healthier and more inclusive.

These grants are available through the Community Action Initiative (CAI), in partnership with the Ministry of Mental Health and Addictions (MMHA) and Overdose Emergency Response Centre (OERC). Projects/initiatives must align with the OERC’s Comprehensive Package of Interventions, must include a Regional Health Authority partner. Collaboration with local community-based organizations and local First Nations communities and Indigenous service providers is encouraged.

Funding ranges from $15,000 to $50,000 per community as determined by identified need and size of municipality.

Eligible Applicants
  • The lead applicant must be a municipality in British Columbia.
  • Lead applicants must partner with a regional health authority.
  • For-profit businesses, business associations, public safety, research institutions and primary care providers are not eligible to apply for this grant funding but may be included in the applicant’s proposed Project Team.
How to Apply
We are no longer accepting applications for this funding opportunity. Join our mailing list to be kept up to date on future opportunities.

Application Resources

We have prepared resources to help you complete your Community Wellness & Harm Reduction application. These resources include important information on grant eligibility, evaluation criteria, and the application process.  

Community Wellness & Harm Reduction Grants – Guidelines (2019)

This document outlines key details on the application process, guidelines, and eligibility requirements for the Community Wellness and Harm Reduction funding opportunity.

OERC Comprehensive Package of Interventions 

All projects/initiatives must align with the OERC’s Comprehensive Package of Interventions. This document provides a table breakdown of OERC’s comprehensive package of interventions in more detail.

Recommended Harm Reduction Resources

Recommended resources available for those who would like to learn more about Harm Reduction and best practices in engaging peer workers and people with Lived/living experience.

Innovative Community Wellness and Harm Reduction Initiatives

This resource provides examples of innovative community initiatives across the province.


Emily Wagner, Community Grants Manager
[email protected]

For all other inquiries, please contact: [email protected], or phone: (604) 638-1172.

For more information about the OERC-CAI 2018 Stream Grants visit the Stream 1 or Stream 2 pages.